Firsts

Since this is my first post on Chasing Sophie, I thought I’d talk about fun firsts. First dates, first kisses, first loves…

I’ll be the first to admit, most of these were a disaster for me. However, the great thing about firsts is that unless it’s your first kid or your first heroic attempt, you can come away relatively unscathed, stronger even. There’s a certain love affair in “firsts” that we get wrapped up in. I think most of us naively believe that the “first” of anything might be indicative of all future success, but that’s very unforgiving of us, don’t you think?

We don’t hear much about second, third and fourths which is a shame.

If I’d stuck with my first job, I’d still be hosting birthday parties at that theme park. If I’d stuck with that first frog, I’d have never found my prince. If I’d stuck with that first celebrity crush, I’d still be drooling over Johnny Depp… Okay, so some firsts are dead on, but you get the idea.

With the exception of Johnny Depp, it’s been my experience that I’m a much bigger fan of what’s to come than what’s been.

Seriously. Can you even imagine a world without the joys of the movie Speed 2?

What are some of the best firsts you ever experienced? How about second or third?

One thought on “Firsts

  1. My first crush led to my first sexual encouter which led to my first child. Yep firsts all the way around. My daughter is my first born, first to give me my first grandchild, and first to be by my side. I love my firsts…

    Like

Leave a Reply

